‘I don’t really see it as work’

If you’re heading to a morning workout at the Westwood YMCA, it can be hard to miss the bright and friendly face of Jason Waugh greeting you at the door.

Jason Waugh at the membership desk
Jason Waugh at the front desk

For the past year, Waugh has been working in the member services department at the YMCA on Montana Avenue, checking in members at the front desk and always greeting them with a smile. He works the morning shift five days a week, and then volunteers his time in the afternoon. “I have so much fun here that I don’t really see it as work,” said Waugh, 34.

Waugh’s fellow employees expressed how vital his demeanor is to the success of the team. Tyla DeJanette, who has been working with Waugh for the past year, said there are just too many good things to say about him. “He is hilarious!” DeJanette said. “He is so friendly, responsible, dependable and always smiling.”

Anne Vinciguerra has been working with Waugh for several months and said their friendship quickly blossomed. “Jason is like a son to me,” she said. “He is very pleasant to work with and always makes my day. He is just so friendly and helpful.”

Throughout his time at the YMCA, Waugh has found a passion for being a positive and friendly force for the guest services team. “Through this job, the thing that I have learned the most about myself is that I am a people person. I love interacting with the members,” Waugh said.

Waugh said he is lucky to have found a job that he not only really enjoys, but also a place that has become a second home. “I have had other jobs in the past, but this one has made me the happiest,” he said. “If I am having a bad day, I come in to work and these people instantly make my day better. They always give me something to laugh about.”

One thought on “‘I don’t really see it as work’

Leave a Reply

