Being part of the team is ‘my favorite thing’

Jillian Daugherty works in the athletic department at Northern Kentucky University. (Photo by Liz Dufour for The Enquirer)
Jillian works in the athletic department at Northern Kentucky University. (Photo by Liz Dufour for The Enquirer)

My name is Jillian Daugherty Mavriplis and I work at Northern Kentucky University (NKU). Coach Dave Bezold gave me my job as a manager at NKU for the basketball team in 2010. I started working with the team and got to know my teammates. My first job I helped him to organize his office and he introduced to me his new staff. He wanted me to do laundry and fill up the water bottles for my team. And towels. My favorite thing was to work with the team.

Coach Beez let me go on some trips, to Ohio State, Xavier and San Francisco. Now I work with Ken Bothof, the athletic director. I help him organize his papers in binders. I shred papers, too. I also help people get tickets and deliver them.

I take four buses to NKU every day. Two there and two back. Just being there is really fun and Ken is fantastic. I’m part of his staff.

I’d like my next job to be working with kids. I worked at Goddard School and Prodigy Preschool and volunteered at the Early Childhood Center at NKU. That’s what I want to do for my career.

Jillian’s story is part of a first-person series about community employment.

3 thoughts on “Being part of the team is ‘my favorite thing’

Leave a Reply

